Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra presents

Hadelich Plays Tchaikovsky



Kirill Karabits, conductor
Augustin Hadelich, violin

The BSO’s Artist in Residence, extraordinary violinist Augustin Hadelich joins the Orchestra for Tchaikovsky’s Concerto, a perennial favourite of soloists and audiences. Vibrant and confident, ironically, it dates from a crisis-laden two years in his life after the breakdown of his disastrous marriage. Folk music and French chanson merge with dazzling fireworks in this marvellous showpiece.

When the Spring Symphony burst forth in a torrent of confidence and creativity in those famous four days of “symphonic fire… sleepless nights”, Schumann was still a newcomer to orchestral music; yet it possesses the most successful use of orchestral colour that he ever obtained.

Stravinsky’s concerto for orchestra derives inspiration not only from Bach but also from musical ideas from across the entire 18th century, giving it a particularly eclectic air – a blend of traditional counterpoint and fugal writing with Stravinsky’s spiky melodic lines and syncopated rhythms. Not to be missed in BSO Chief Conductor Kirill Karabits’ interpretation!


Stravinsky Dumbarton Oaks
Tchaikovsky Violin Concerto
Schumann Symphony No.1 “Spring”



Event Info


A £38 B £32 C £24 D £20 E £14

The following concessions are available from the box office (telephone and in person only):

Under 18s “Kids for a Quid”: £1 tickets, subject to availability.

Full-time Students, Job Seekers Allowance, Income Support Benefit, Wheelchair users and up to 1 companion: 50% discount

Groups 10+ 10% discount
Groups 20+ 20% discount
Groups 30+ 30% discount

MULTIBUY discounts are available if you buy 4 concerts or more

All transactions are subject to a £2 booking fee.

Running Time

2hrs including interval book now

You might also like

English Serenade

read more book now

Fire and Ice

read more book now


read more book now