Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra presents

English Serenade



Kirill Karabits, conductor
Robert Murray, tenor*
Nicolas Fleury, horn

One of the highlights of the season, BSO Chief Conductor Kirill Karabits is joined by BSO Principal Horn, Nicolas Fleury and English tenor Robert Murray* for Britten’s hauntingly beautiful Serenade for Tenor, Horn & Strings. Compellingly emotional, it is an insightful and imaginative setting of poems which span five centuries of English verse, united under a loosely connecting theme of evening, the night-time and sleep. The music is immediately gripping, the tenor’s penetrating vocal lines matched in spades by the wonderful horn calls. It is without question a genuine masterwork of the 20th century.

Mozart’s Symphony No.39 opens grandly, with a darkly dramatic introduction in which orchestral texture and harmonic dissonance increase to near breaking point. This gives way to superlatively crafted work of contrasting melodic invention and rhythmic and contrapuntal exploration. Bach’s orchestral suite in the French style opens with a majestic overture, a curtain raiser to a series of exquisite dances which include the famous ‘Air on a G string’ as well as a jubilant gavotte and final festive gigue.


JS Bach Suite No.3
Britten Serenade for Tenor, Horn & Strings
Mozart Symphony No.39

*Robert Murray replaces John Mark Ainsley who is unable to perform.




Event Info


A £38 B £32 C £24 D £20 E £14

The following concessions are available from the box office (telephone and in person only):

Under 18s “Kids for a Quid”: £1 tickets, subject to availability.

Full-time Students, Job Seekers Allowance, Income Support Benefit, Wheelchair users and up to 1 companion: 50% discount

Groups 10+ 10% discount
Groups 20+ 20% discount
Groups 30+ 30% discount

MULTIBUY discounts are available if you buy 4 concerts or more

All transactions are subject to a £2 booking fee.

Running Time

2hrs including interval book now

You might also like

Classical Extravaganza 2016

read more book now

Fire and Ice

read more book now