Amadeus Orchestra & Bournemouth Symphony Chorus


Conductor: Philip Mackenzie

STRAUSS: Till Eulenspiegel lustige Streiche, Op.28
BRUCH: Violin Concerto No.1 in G minor, Op.26 (Violin: Michael Gurevich)
TCHAIKOVSKY: Romeo and Juliet – a fantasy overture
PROKOFIEV: Alexander Nevsky (Mezzo Soprano: Nina Alupii-Morton)

The Amadeus Orchestra are one again joined by the Bournemouth Symphony Chorus for a performance of Prokofiev’s masterpiece Alexander Nevsky. Originally written as music for the Eisenstein film of the same name, this version is condensed into a Cantata. It depicts the attempted invasion of Novgorod in the 13th century by the Teutonic Knights of the Holy Roman Empire and their defeat by Prince Alexander. Also in the programme are Strauss’s gloriously impish tone poem Till Eulenspiegel, and two cornerstones of the Romantic period: Bruch’s Violin Concerto in G minor and Tchaikovsky’s Romeo & Juliet fantasy overture.


Event Info


A £35 B £30 C £25 D £20*
Concs: £2 off bands B-D

*a 50p per ticket booking fee applies

book now